16 year old riding alone

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
J

Jake

Hey you guys, this is my first time riding the Amtrak trains and I would like to know if I bought the ticket from the Amtrak app, do I just show them my e-ticket ( or whatever it's called) or do I need a physical ticket? Also do I need ID? I don't have my Liscence nor permit ( dumb move I know) but I do have my social security card and a debit card if that would help? Thanks, Jake

Jake,

No, you don't need a physical ticket anymore as long as your doing a train only. Some bus connections still require tickets.

And yes, you do need some form of picture ID in case you get asked for it. Do you have a school ID? That would be valid as ID if it has a photo.

As for the forms you've mentioned, technically no, they are not valid. But you may get a conductor who will let you slide, assuming that you're one of the people selected for the random ID check.

Here is the Amtrak page on ID's. If your 16 it looks like you don't need an ID (but it's good to have one anyways)

http://www.amtrak.com/passenger-identification

You didn't state where your boarding from, some stations have special procedures. But for any small station you can just show your eTicket on you app. You should also get a pdf in your email you can show them instead.

peter

Thanks a lot both of you, but I have one more question. I'm am going from Waterbury Vermont to Penn station in new York, then from penn station to fort Myers Florida. When I arrive in NY should I just buy the ticket there or just do the same ( buy from the app)? If I do buy it at the station will the ticket person ask for ID?

Here is the Amtrak page on ID's. If your 16 it looks like you don't need an ID (but it's good to have one anyways)