Via Rail Info.....

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

rrdude

Engineer
I've got my first Via trip coming up in April, on The Ocean from Moncton to Montreal. I'm hoping to connect with the Adirondack southbound that next morning. Anyone have any experience on that? Or OTP for this train? I'd love to get some info on the equipment, etc., I've seen both "stainless" or "Renaissance" how do I know which I'd be in?

Ha, I'm a newbie all over again, since it's Via Rail and not Amtrak.

Thanks for your help.

VIA from MONCTON

Wed. Apr 21, 2010

Departure:17:07 MONTRÉAL

Thu. Apr 22, 2010

Arrival:08:29 Cabin for 1 - discounted (Meals not included) Car :1520

Unit :05

Connecting to: hopefully.....

Montreal, QC (MTR) to Yonkers, NY (YNY)

22-APR-10; 9:30 am - 22-APR-10; 8:04 pm

Service: 68 Adirondack

Duration: 10 hr, 34 min

<Departs>

Montreal, QC (MTR)

22-APR-10; 9:30 am

<Arrives>

Yonkers, NY (YNY)

22-APR-10; 8:04 pm

Hi, we travelled on the Ocean from Halifax to Montreal last October. It arrived approx 2 hours late IIRC. Only reasons given were "freight" etc. Even Moncton to Montreal is a long way, thus giving more scope for a late arrival.

Also, remember that there are no Amtrak ticket machines in Montreal, being Canada, tickets can only be obtained from a person at a counter, which takes longer. Maybe you could get them in the US before you leave home. Given boarding will start approx 9.15 - 9.20 am, you are cutting it very fine. Personally, I would suggest a stopover in Montreal.