Guest Rewards - Best bang for the buck?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Faraz

Train Attendant
I am no expert in guest rewards but it appears the 1000 point trips on the special routes are the best deal among all the rewards? Or there other good things I am overlooking?

we are saving for 15,000 points for a one zone roomette. as i understand it for 15,000 points two of us will be able to go first class from spokane to san diego one way(all in the west coast zone). might be a better deal to use the points for 15 one way fares on the cascades but we are going to do the california trip

A great two zone reward is to go from LA to Seattle, to Chicago (or Chicago, LA, Seattle but then you only have about 2 hrs to make your train). This will get you 3 nights in a roomette for 20,000 points, 4 if the starlight is really late. For some reason they allow this, but do not allow Chicago, LA, New Orleans as a routing (tried that one this year).

The best bang for the buck really depends on how many bucks you're not spending.

I've never used points for a corridor train, as i get more from the points earned than the money saved. And it's pretty easy to five to six cents per point on a two or three zone roomette.

A great two zone reward is to go from LA to Seattle, to Chicago (or Chicago, LA, Seattle but then you only have about 2 hrs to make your train). This will get you 3 nights in a roomette for 20,000 points, 4 if the starlight is really late. For some reason they allow this, but do not allow Chicago, LA, New Orleans as a routing (tried that one this year).
CHI to NOL is one zone, with a direct train. If you want to go via LAX, that's two zones out and two zones back.