What's the longest vacation you've taken by train?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Two Weeks. Four years ago when our daughter got out of high school we took a two week trip. NBN-CHI-SEA-LAX-FLG-SFW-CHI-NBN. We stayed 3 days each in SEA and SFW. We had a layover in LAX for 23 hours and about 19 hours in FLG. We rented a car in FLG and took in the Grand Cannon. Great Trip. Since there were three of us we had a roomette or bedroom the entire trip. Actually between SEA and LAX we had a suite (two bedrooms opened up to each other). All paid for with points. I had been saving points for three years. You can't do that with today's point system
(or at least it would take many more points), but there were different rules then.

In 1985 when it looked like the Reagan Administration might succeed in getting rid of Amtrak, I took a long (potentially) "last ride." 15729 miles and 16 CONSECUTIVE nights on the train:
1. Empire Builder Cut Bank to Seattle
2. Coast Starlight Seattle to Sacramento
3. California Zephyr Sacramento to Chicago
4. City of New Orleans Chicago to New Orleans
5. Sunset Limited New Orleans to Los Angeles
6. San Diegan Los Angeles to San Diego
7. San Diegan San Diego to Los Angeles
8. Southwest Limited Los Angeles to Chicago
9. Lake Shore Limited Chicago to Boston
10. Night Owl Boston to Baltimore
11. Cardinal Baltimore to Dyer, IN
12. Broadway Limited Hammond/Whiting to New York
13. Silver Meteor New York to Tampa
14. Silver Star Tampa to Washington, DC
15. Capitol Limited Washington, DC to Chicago

Connections and on-time performance was much better then!

This 1985 trip you took is definitely worth a trip report and recount of your experience back then!