roomette with in-room toilet, does it smell?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

sleepybobcat

Train Attendant
I was checking out the prices for a trip from New York to the South... on the Silver Star or Meteor.

The trains has roomettes for two people... I noticed that it has an in-room toilet out in the open. :)

I've no experience with this.... does it smell? :) Seems kind of odd to have a toilet right there...

When one person uses it, should the other one leave the room? If it's a #2, won't it stink up

the room for a good while? :(

Also, how does someone get to the top bunk in the roomette?

Any advice appreciated! :)

I was checking out the prices for a trip from New York to the South... on the Silver Star or Meteor.
The trains has roomettes for two people... I noticed that it has an in-room toilet out in the open. :)

I've no experience with this.... does it smell? :) Seems kind of odd to have a toilet right there...

When one person uses it, should the other one leave the room? If it's a #2, won't it stink up

the room for a good while? :(
I depends on what they had for lunch! :blink:

No seriously, it is weird. Unless you are particularly close to your travel mate, they should leave the room. It can smell for a bit, but the Viewliner sleepers have pretty good ventilation, so it won't smell for long. The toilet has a vaccume flush system, so there should be no 'residue' after flushing.

Also, how does someone get to the top bunk in the roomette?
Any advice appreciated! :)
To get to the top bunk, you put the toilet lid down, close the sink (it folds up), and use those two levels as steps. This is how they were designed and it works surprisingly well.

Last edited by a moderator: