What's the difference between types of purchased seats?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

shytown

Train Attendant
I'm looking to book a fast trip to Cleveland over the holidays and there are several options on 2 different trains.

I only need to reserve a coach seat.

On each route for the different days I'm considering, the "lower level coach seats" are always sold out leaving only the "reserved coach seats" available. What does this mean?

(I've never taken Amtrak so I'm a newbie at this - ha!)

Thanks.

I'm looking to book a fast trip to Cleveland over the holidays and there are several options on 2 different trains.
I only need to reserve a coach seat.

On each route for the different days I'm considering, the "lower level coach seats" are always sold out leaving only the "reserved coach seats" available. What does this mean?

(I've never taken Amtrak so I'm a newbie at this - ha!)

Thanks.
The lower level coach seats are on the lower level of the bi level superliner coaches, and reserved coach seats are on the upper level. Both types of seats are the same, just on different levels.

Some people think it is quieter on the lower level because there are fewer people in the lower level.

I have also heard that people with limited mobility find it easier to sit there and avoid the steps.

In the sleeper cars, the family bedroom and handicapped room are located on the lower level.

When I am traveling in a roomette on a Superliner, I prefer the lower level.