Care to help a girl out? (newbie questions)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello, My name is Christine. I am new to the forum. It is my first time to take an Amtrak train, first time traveling solo, and taking a long distance cross country trip. I have a few questions. They might be dumb questions but please bare with my stupidity ☺

A quick back story about myself; I have had 3 Major surgeries in the past 4 years and now that Im feeling better, I wanted to step out of my comfort zone and do something that I have been wanting to do for awhile... Travel.

I will be coming from San Jose stopping at Chicago and staying there for about 2-3 days then from Chicago to New York and stay there for another 2-3 days as well. Going back, I was thinking of taking straight from New York to San Jose. (Not quite sure if I will take another stop somewhere going back)

Questions:

-Purchasing tickets. Do I purchase tickets individual? Such as San Jose-Chicago then Chicago-New York & etc.

-For long distance travel is it a must to get a sleeping room or would coach be okay? I am 5ft 2inch

-Are showers only allowed for people that have rooms?

Food/Drinks; What is allowed? Or is it allowed?

-Since Ill be traveling solo, what are the chances that I wont have someone sit next to me?

Im sure I have more questions but those will suffice for now, haha. I would appreciate any tips and suggestions. Thanks! -Christine

Last edited by a moderator: