Seatings on the California Zephyr

• Thread starter Gracious Traveler
  • Start date
Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
G

Gracious Traveler

I am a veteran of cross-country trains. I enjoy having my meal at the end of the day -- usually 8PM. Why, yesterday, out of Chicago, was I offered the "last seating" at 7PM? When asked why, the response was; "we need to get to bed"! What's up?

Sounds to me like they're looking at fewer takers and don't was to spread out how late the reservations will be.

It's just an excuse, but it seems reasonable what they're doing.

Every Diner Crew operates basically however the LSA wants, irregardless of what Amtraks policies or posted blurbs are.

In this case, as was said, the demand was probably low for the various rez times, hence the 700PM last call.

Don't forget the Diner Crew has to start work preparing for Breakfast in the wee hours and puts in 16-18 Hour days with just a little sleep on LD Routes.

Last edited by a moderator:
O.K. Understood. Last trip was on a sold-out train. One doesn't know how many diners are aboard. I stand well-informed. Thank you.

Often, when starting from the origin point of the train (such as out of CHI), later seatings are reserved for passengers boarding down the line, usually based on sleeper reservations for the stations boarding before diner service cutoff. It's rare for me to get a dinner reservation boarding out of CHI past 7:30, though it sometimes happens in summer.

That said, the reason given is one of the dumbest excuses I've ever heard. It basically says "our work schedule takes precedence over the customers' needs". This crew apparently wasn't working on the California Zephyr a couple of years ago when I had an 8 or 8:30 dinner reservation and at 10:30 PM they were still trying to get everyone served.