Help Support AmtrakTrains.com by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.

Photo

Greetings

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 U235

U235

Train Attendant

• Pip
  • 1 posts
  • Interests:Fishing, golf, train travel, and grandkids.

Posted 24 August 2017 - 10:51 PM

I'm new in joining this forum but not new to travel by rail. I've traveled quite a bit over the past few years (mostly on business) and have been able to have my wife along with me. We're both great fans of train travel. In two days we take our "dream trip". We are visiting my daughter and her family in the SFO area. We leave Saturday on the CS to Seattle. After a few days there we take the EB to Chicago for a few days of entertainment and hopefully a Cubs game. We leave from there on CL for WAS and after a short stay will take Palmetto back to FAY and a short drive to the NC coast and home.

I've learned a lot in reading the comments and advice given to others over the last couple of years and it has made my travels much more enjoyable. Thanks for all the help and I look forward to participating in the discussion from now on.

#2 the_traveler

the_traveler

Engineer

• Global Moderators
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 24,121 posts
  • Interests:Planning my next trip

Posted 24 August 2017 - 11:22 PM

Welcome aboard!:hi:
Take it easy .......

Take the train instead and enjoy the ride!

The view is much better at 3 feet than it is at 30,000 feet!

#3 BuffaloBoy

BuffaloBoy

Lead Service Attendant

• Members
  • PipPipPip
  • 109 posts
  • Interests:Trains, Warbirds and Automobiles.
    Computer Technology.
    Electric Blues

Posted 24 August 2017 - 11:24 PM

Welcome!

#4 Shanghai

Shanghai

Engineer

• Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 3,846 posts

Posted 26 August 2017 - 06:14 AM

Welcome U235.  We too have a daughter in San Francisco (and a new granddaughter).

We just returned from SFO yesterday by train.  It is a long ride but we divide the trip with