SAC-CHI w/points CHI-WAS w/$: workable?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

chris

Amtrak novice here so be easy on me. Planning a cross-country trip, SAC-WAS via CHI, and have found the most optimum plan for me, considering my Guest Rewards points balance, is to book 2 separate legs. Sac - Chi on points and then Chi - Was with $. Just wondering how booking two separate legs would effect the second leg if the first one comes in too late to catch my second leg connection. Is it like airlines that would definitely take care of you if this was all booked on one ticket and a first leg delay caused you to miss the next flight, but if I tried to book such a trip with 2 separate bookings and the first one made me late for the second one, they could care less I missed my next flight and wouldn't do a thing to help since they were 2 entirely different bookings? Hope this is making sense. With Amtrak I can't see any other way to use points on part of a trip and cash on another part via one booking.

Any help or advice would be greatly appreciated!

Technically, when you book from point A to point B, your trip ends at point B - even if you have another from point B to point C. But you can and should call an agent and have both associated with each other. (If you call, the agent could book both for you.)