CSX plans for future

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tricia

Conductor
Since Amtrak uses some CSX tracks, I thought this article might be of interest here. It's a summary ot an article in the British "Financial Times," which is accessible by subscription only.

Here's one quote: CSX CEO "Harrison said he was not going to buy locomotives or double-track CSX’s routes to accommodate coal."

If you're an optimist, this might mean less traffic competing with Amtrak trains sharing the same tracks. If you're a pessimist, you might be more concerned about shrinking incentive for CSX to maintain those tracks.

I'm no expert about any of this. Hope others here with broader knowledge will chime in.

More CSX plans for the future, according to Trains magazine, is that CSX is moving all of its dispatching centers back to Jacksonville, Fla. I understand that a completely centralized dispatching center can have some advantages, but Jacksonville, Florida, is the wrong location. When a hurricane hits there, it will shut down the whole railroad. Some would say that they can probably run the railroad from an auxiliary location, and they probably can. However, during a hurricane, where will their dispatchers be? Probably hunkered down at home protecting the homestead instead of at the satellite dispatching center.

jb

Double tracking for coal, honestly, is a poor decision. Investments in coal only make sense for those who have no other lines of business. The long term future of coal mining is a bleak one, and a mistake commonly made is clinging to old standards for income.

That doesn't mean they are saying they won't still take coal business, it's just not worth investing money in building it further.