if 2 separate tickets, will delay/missed connection be protected?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Technically no, but if others are transferring between trains, most times the 2nd train is held.
I'm on the 1st train and the 2nd train just left, according to Amtrak's train status page. :( (not that I blame the 2nd train... don't think they can wait 4 and half hours)

Last edited by a moderator:
I have no personal experience but my guess is guaranteed connection really just means they will provide accommodations overnight for the missed train if you miss it (assuming they can't make alternate arrangements). It's not like they will hold the train for you.

I have no personal experience but my guess is guaranteed connection really just means they will provide accommodations overnight for the missed train if you miss it (assuming they can't make alternate arrangements). It's not like they will hold the train for you.
the Amtrak station agent told me "sorry.. not if they are not

the same ticket"(which I fully understand) I got on Hotwire.com

and got a 4-star hotel for $61 for tonight... (after paying for it,

Hotwire revealed that it was the Hyatt Regency downtown,

so not too bad) The Amtrak agent rebooked me for the same

train tomorrow, so all is well. :)

There is no guarantee a train will be held, especially if the delay is long, but when the connections are in the system, they know the numbers of connecting passengers from arriving trains, and it does factor into decisions. Sometimes it's a hold, sometimes it's overnight accommodations, once in a while a different route (like LSL i/o CL) or using a bus to jump to a place here a connecting passenger can meet a train.