Party of 12 on LD train. Logistics, Specials?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Texan Eagle

Conductor
I am going to be in a big group of friends, 12 of us to be specific, riding City of New Orleans end to end. We have booked 6 roomettes between us, and some are adjacent, some others are scattered across a car or two cars.

This is my first time taking Amtrak in a party of more than 4. I am here to get ideas and tips from anyone of you who has done Amtrak journeys with such a large group. Will the SCAs be able to "reassign" roomettes at the start to get us closer together? Do they like big groups or will we be an annoyance? How would dining car seating work for a party of 12 if we don't want to get split up between multiple tables? Anything else I should know?

I don't think TA-SC(s) will move other passengers from their reserved roomettes to accommodate your group's desire to be closer together.

Each TA-SC will have their own regard about larger groups, and I suspect TA-SCs don't often have to large groups on their train.

By the same token the LSA-Dining Car will have their own regard about larger groups.

LSAs stagger dinner reservations. They don't schedule 12 passengers at the same time so the arrival of diners is spread out.

Have a nice trip and leave generous gratuities.

Last edited by a moderator:
I am going to be in a big group of friends, 12 of us to be specific, riding City of New Orleans end to end. We have booked 6 roomettes between us, and some are adjacent, some others are scattered across a car or two cars.