Many questions from a foreigner !

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Hello everyone,

I am from India and will be travelling to the US in May to meet relatives in New York and Phoenix, AZ . I had this crazy idea of travelling from NY to Phoenix by train ! I genuinely think the best way to see a country and meet people is through train journeys !! I have travelled the length and breadth of India through numerous trains , and would love to experience the AMTRAK too . This is my first time in the US and I am slightly apprehensive about travelling such a long distance alone .

I have been scouring the web since the past few days , waiting to devour any information i can on the routes, schedules and all possible options between these two cities. This website has been a goldmine in terms of experience and knowledge sharing !!

I noticed that Phoenix does not have an Amtrak station , or at least the AMTRAK website didnt show me any direct options !Could anyone here please guide me as to which station should i get down at, and which LD train would be most convenient for me ?

Thanks again for sharing such invaluable information on this forum .

I'm sure others can give you more of the sad details, but the "Phoenix" station is Maricopa,, AZ, a small town 40 miles from downtown Phoenix.

As well as Maricopa, which only has a train 3 days a week, you can also use Flagstaff, AZ [which has daily trains] and connect by bus, although the schedule is not that convenient involving a very late [early!] arrival in Phoenix or a night in Flagstaff. You might also want to think about a detour to the Grand Canyon [possibly via the Grand Canyon Railway] or a bus tour.

Allen

Last edited by a moderator:
Hi,

Welcome to the forum.

I have enjoyed many train rides in India, but am afraid that the Amtrak train service is very sparse indeed.