Homewood, IL (HMW) to be Unstaffed Effective June 27, 2016

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

AmtrakLKL

Lead Service Attendant
Homewood, IL will be unstaffed effective June 27, 2016. The station waiting room will be open daily from 4 PM to 9 PM, or until train 59 departs.

First Glenview and now Homewood? I would be a little nervous if I was an agent in Naperville. However one of the NPV ticket agents has a relative high up on the Amtrak food chain so I am sure thats probably why it will be the last suburban ticket office to be shuttered. Glenview had the most trains thru per day and should have been the one that remained open.

Last edited by a moderator:
While it's a bit sad to see this downsizing, it's probably for the best. Most customers interact online or via phone, and so if Amtrak can unstaff stations while increasing the use of trainside checked baggage and a slightly less onerous cash fare policy onboard (maybe a $20 or 20% surcharge or something instead of instant highest bucket,) that would be a decent way to save some money.

NOTE: I edited after the quote was made. The sentence was a bit unwieldy and unclear before.

While it's a bit sad to see this downsizing, it's probably for the best. Most customers interact online or via phone, and so if unstaffing stations along with increasing the use of trainside checked baggage and a slightly less onerous cash fare policy onboard (maybe a $20 or 20% surcharge or something instead of instant highest bucket) would allow people to use most of the services agents gave without Amtrak shouldering the cost for agents at these smaller stations where most people don't want to buy a ticket from an agent.