Farewell AEM7 Farewell Trip (June 2016)

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Seaboard92

Engineer
Hey guys seeing I work in the rail excursion business I came up with an idea. But before I put in for it I want your opinions. As everyone knows the AEM7s are approaching retirement faster every day. So I would have to work fast to get it planned. But a farewell excursion to the venerable workhorse. So if everyone could voice their opinions on your thoughts.

1. Where do you think a charter should start New York, Washington, Boston, or Philly?

2. Where do you think the excursion should run to? Any of the above departure cities and Harrisburg included.

3. Would you like photo stops if Amtrak is willing to allow them? And if so where?

4. What would you be willing to pay for the charter. I think about 150 per person.

5. Would you like to have food service such as a cafe, or a diner. Or a lunch stop in one of the cities.

6. Would anyone be interested in a night photo shoot in Ivy City yard for day fifty dollars. With the AEM7 set up with other engines, and equipment. Maybe a GG1 if I could find one roadworthy enough to deadhead.

7. Would first class service sell in the Metroliner conference car or the 2-1 half cafe business class cars. And what sort of price would be fair?

8. What departure times would be fair game for you guys? I'm thinking 8 am on a weekend to not mess with commuter trains.

So the main question I have is there a market for this trip? Or should I not bother putting in for it on such short notice. And thank you so much for answering the questions. And I hope it works out

Ok, at least speaking to my personal preferences:
-Depending on what was on offer, etc., I'd happily pay $150. N.B. I am not "most people".