Reno police checked me out!!!

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
I am currently doing a round trip on the California Zephyr. 5 rolled into Reno, and we had been stopped for less than 5 minutes. I got up to go out and walk on the platform. As I stepped out of room 9 I was greeted by two plain clothes police. One showed a badge. I stood in the door to my room. They asked where I was going and asked to see my ticket. I showed them. They pointedly stated that this was a long train ride for a one night stay. I stated that I was a railfan. They asked what I did for a living, and I told them I was a teacher. Then one asked if he had ever talked to me before. I said no but that I was aware of police activity in Reno because I ride this train often and I had also read that the police come in the train to check passengers. Then they left. It was obvious that they had been tipped off to my presence. They did not talk to other passengers in my car. In fact when I saw the badge I surmised that the one night stay in San Francisco is what triggered the questioning.

I do feel violated, and I apologize to others on this board who stated there displeasure and I responded by saying just cooperate. That worked but I am still a bit upset. I now understand the points of view of others.

amtrak management: I know some of you come on amtrak unlimited and read stuff. If you are reading this know that this could turn off many riders. The police and your staff working with police need. To do better research. If the police had access to my reservation they also know my agr number. If you are sharing ticketing information with them, then why not share that too. That would save the cops the effort of hassling your best customers.

I am going to write a letter too. Just venting for now.