First timer on a sleeper train- CZ

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
This is my first time using this forum so I apologize ahead if this is too long or if I am using it incorrectly.

We are going on a sleeper train, (bedroom accommodations) for the first time. We have made many short distance train trips, but this is our first time on a long distance sleeper train. We are on the CZ going from Chicago to San Francisco. We have bedroom B. Any tips and advice that you can give us would be extremely appreciated. I have found some answers on the forum, but not all. Here are some of the tips I have read so far, but there are a few more items I would like to know about

Suggestions on what to bring:
1. Small flashlight
2. Large binder clips or 3-4 large pins like the diaper pins (this is to keep the curtains closed at night)
3. Nonperishable snacks
4. Small sewing kit
5. Band-aides.
6. Medications; Tylenol, cold/cough medicine, Tums, etc.
7. Small bottle of water (do they run out?)
8. 12" or so of duct tape, wrapped around a ballpoint pen. Use the tape to silence any squeaky panels or fixtures inside your roomette
9. GPS scanners (so you can find out exactly where you are)
10. Scanners (so you can listen to the train crew) can keep you entertained and informed.
11. Travel coffee mugs
12. Mug heating coil.
13. Bottle of wine, six pack of good beer, small alcoholic bottles (is this allowed in the bedroom?)
14. Coke (that’s all my husband will drink)
15. Laptop for DVD watching (+ DVDs, of course)
16. Route guide
17. Belkin mini surge protector/USB charger
18. File folders (can be used to block unwanted air or heat) also use for storing info.
19. Pre-packaged window cleaning wipes (?)