DC to DAL

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

tonys96

Conductor
Want to get back from DC to DAL in a few weeks on points. Only offered cap ltd & eagle. Why not crescent and SL/ eagle? Is cap ltd a nice ride/ train? Any good scenery?

There is no published connection through NOL as it is an overnight connection. An alternative would be to tweak your days by one or two and see if you can get on the Cardinal rather than the Capitol from DC to CHI. I'm not a huge proponent of going through San Antonio. When I'm on a train, I like to move. You'll have gorgeous scenery out of DC through Harper's Ferry and up the river till you fall asleep. When you wake, it's miles and miles of industrial South Shore. Going into DAL, the best scenery is in the middle of the night. Enjoy the evening looking at bare, harvested corn fields. When you wake, you'll be dropping out of the Arkansas hills and into the pine forests of East Texas. Marshall is a beautiful junction with an historic depot.

Last edited by a moderator:
I agree with taking the Cardinal Tony! If yall want to ride a cheapie Regional(or even an Acela) to NYP, you could take the Lake Shore Ltd to CHI but its having OTP problems also!

The best direction for the Cap is Eastbound so you get the good scenery East of Pittsburgh to WAS in Daylight.

Of course with the " temporary" short consist on the Cap and the poor OTP due to freight congestion, you'd think you were riding the Eagle or CONO with a CCC and no SSL!

I don't think VF realizes you live in the DFW Metroplex and are very familiar with the Texas Eagle route. Smiles

Thanks......we are doing this on points, and would love to go through NYP, so if we did that how would we get from DC to NY?

I love the Marshall station, great little museum inside it......