AGR credit card questions

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Barciur

OBS Chief
Hello

I've been thinking of getting the AGR credit card since it's free and seems a good way to earn some extra points. I do have a few questions though.

1. I've been an AGR member for 3 years, but no credit card. If I get it, am I eligible for the 12k point bonus?

2. I have no credit history. I am a college student living with my parents. I've held a stable part time job for 12 months now and will be keeping it, if that has any bearing on it. Would I be eligible for this card or would the lack of credit history stop me from this? Anybody know?

3. Is it really free? As long as I pay my balance on time, no hidden fees or interest that I would be hit with? Nothing to worry about?

I've asked jim about this before and he gave me good answers, but I figured before I'd call or apply I'd ask if maybe someone might have an experience with them in my situation?

Last edited by a moderator:
1) The 12k (or whatever) bonus is for obtaining AND using the card at least once. The bonus is not connected to how long you have been an AGR memer.

2) Whether you qualify for the card (and what type of card) is entirely up to Chase and their credit criteria.

3) I have the Chase "World" card and yes, it is free. I can't speak of the other cards. The actual card issued is dependent on your credit-worthiness as determined by Chase.

Good luck and, if you qualify, can start earning points. I use it for "everyday" things I used to use my debit card for.

Yes, it is totally free - except you may get addicted to the free trips you'll earn! :p Really, as long as you pay your balance in full, there is never any extra fees or charges. And the 5% rebate on award redemptions does not hurt! :)