Traveling from Newport News to Rochester...

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

fair28

Train Attendant
Hello, I'm new to rail travel and I was wondering if anyone has any insights or suggestions...

I'm traveling in Early October and have the need to get from the Hampton Roads area to Rochester, NY and chose to travel by rail instead of flying mainly because I've never traveled long distance by train before. I'm booked on the northeast regional (66) and the maple leaf (63) from Penn to Rochester and was wondering if anyone has any suggestions or insights for this trip? I have a long layover at Penn (overnight) and wondering about suggestions for that too... I'm an experienced traveler, but, not by rail and looking forward to this.

Thanks everyone....

That is a bit of an awkward layover. I'm not sure what to say about that part. I'd definitely bring a blanket and a pillow. Those items will be useful both on the train, and in the station. NYP tends to stay pretty busy throughout the night, so while it may not be quiet, you don't have to worry about being in a place where there aren't other people around.

As for the train, I'd definitely recommend business class seats for the entire trip. The seats are much more comfortable for sleeping, and the fewer passengers in the car means that it will be much quieter. You also get included (non-alcoholic) drinks, and a newspaper. This is what business class looks like on the trains you'll be on: http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/c/c1/Amfleet_I_business_class_at_WAS.jpg

As for food, I'd recommend bringing a small cooler along with sandwiches, etc. The cafe car does have a pretty good selection, and NYP has a lot of restaurants, but it can't hurt to bring some of your own food on a trip like this.