2 zone redemtion from LAX to IND via SEA allowable?

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.

Davids

Train Attendant
Hi,

A newbie here and my first post. I am planning to redeem 2 zone roomette points from LAX to IND. Do you think they will allow me to take CS to SEA, stay overnight on my own dime then EB the next day to CHI and finally Hoosier to IND. EB leaves before CS arrives in SEA. The next day connection from CS to EB is less than 24 hours later which still meets the criteria. I might as well ask here first before I call AGR. Thank you for all your help.

The answer is No way Jose! AMtrak used to guarantee the connection in Portland (PDX),between the CS #14 and the EB#28 but now you must spend the night on your own dime in PDX IF they still allow this??(subject to change without notice/see the thread on the Mess on the Hi-Line)

The most direct routing from LAX to CHI

is on #4 the SWC and on the three days a week that it runs the Sunset Ltd./Texas Eagle #422. The Cardinal #50,(three days a week) or the Hoosier State #850 leaves CHI @ 545pm as a Guaranteed Connection so you would want to time your trip to ride the Cardinal to Indy since it would be in a Sleeper which includes Dinner in the Diner-Light for your 20,000 Points 2 Zone Award in a Roomette!.

The CS-EB connection is less than 24 hours as you say but it is not a published route. I wouldn't count on making that work though on a trip I'm going on in a couple of days such a connection did work. It was a case of getting a hold of the right agent. But in your case I doubt you would get any agent who would allow that as a 2 zone award. The SWC or the SL/TE to Chicago route would be what they would allow.