Amtrak now offers direct tickets to Virginia Tech, Blacksburg

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.

Texan Eagle

Conductor
Amtrak just posted this on their Facebook page- Take Amtrak from Blacksburg to New York

Basically, Amtrak has tied up with the local bus service "SmartWay bus" to act as Thruway bus connection from Virginia Tech campus in Blacksburg to Lynchburg, connecting to the morning NE Regional heading up to WAS, PHL, NYP. Amtrak's site shows a new "station" - Blacksburg - Virginia Tech Bus Stop, VA (BLK)

This is going to be good for the Hokies traveling home and back during weekends and school holidays. How I wish this service was started when I was a student at VT, missed it :(

Amtrak just posted this on their Facebook page- Take Amtrak from Blacksburg to New York
Basically, Amtrak has tied up with the local bus service "SmartWay bus" to act as Thruway bus connection from Virginia Tech campus in Blacksburg to Lynchburg, connecting to the morning NE Regional heading up to WAS, PHL, NYP. Amtrak's site shows a new "station" - Blacksburg - Virginia Tech Bus Stop, VA (BLK)

This is going to be good for the Hokies traveling home and back during weekends and school holidays. How I wish this service was started when I was a student at VT, missed it :(
and my son is graduating this fall semester. I-81 absolutely stinks with all the governed trucks drag racing each other at 62 mph.

I don't understand the criticism of "BLK." Don't seem any more or less intuitive than BBG. I don't

get "VPI," and "BVT" makes me think "Burlington, Vermont."