Brass Amtrak

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
M

MBTAmtrak

I am new to the site and proud to be a new member. I have been collecting Amtrak plastic models since I was 3, now 26 years later I have switched to only a brass Amtrak collection. Just wondering if anyone else on here is a brass Amtrak collector from Overland Models, Pacific Fast Mail etc.

I live in MA and only collect brass NorthEast Corridor and Lake Shore Limited equipment (GHB Amfleet II's, SoHo Amfleet I's, OMI Viewliner's, and OMI MHC's). Engine list includes 2 OMI F-40's (#410 and 222), AMD-103 #801, and purchasing a Dash 8 next week.

I have a couple questions for other modelers of brass such as which sound decoders are best for the engines? I have never made a serious push into DCC as I am trying to find the right person/train store to due the conversion.

Any help,info or sharing your collection is appreciated and I hope to come across other modelers that are big Amtrak fans.

-Andrew

Aloha

Welcome to AU

When it comes to DCC it is best to find a club near you. Installation of decoders is fairly simple for anyone that knows how to solder. What gets confusing, and important, is to be sure that there is no path for power to the motor except through the decoder. Where a club helps is to master the settings of CV's.

I prefer Digitrax, and was a Dealer while I lived in Hawaii. Friends in Michigan use MCE. both system are good. But a nearby network is very helpful.

Eric

I am new to the site and proud to be a new member. I have been collecting Amtrak plastic models since I was 3, now 26 years later I have switched to only a brass Amtrak collection. Just wondering if anyone else on here is a brass Amtrak collector from Overland Models, Pacific Fast Mail etc.