Amtrak Service Manual

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
G

Just released under the Freedom of Information Act: the Amtrak Service Standards Manual

Amtrak Service Standards Manual for Train Service and On-Board Service Employees, Version 6, 2011 - PDF 6.5 MB

http://tinyurl.com/44fbbvp

cool.gif

being a virtual modeler, I was looking at this and was wondering, the technical information about Amtrak's equiptment (namely drawings of their cars & engines) is this Amtrak's stuff & obtainable under FOIA, or owned by the other companies & not avialable?

peter

I have never heard a conductor actively promoting upgrade sales on any of my trips:

s) Promoting Available On-Board Sleeping Car Accommodations – Conductors and Assistant Conductors should promote and sell Sleeping Car accommodation upgrades when space is available on the manifest. Make the “Availability of Sleeping Car Accommodations Announcement” in Chapter 10 “On-Board Announcements & Signage.” Notify the Train Attendants working in coaches that there is Sleeping Car space available and solicit their help in identifying passengers who might be interested in upgrading their accommodations. This also applies to passengers in a roomette who may want to upgrade to a bedroom. Sleeping Car sales requests should be made by contacting the Reservations Support Desk. Do not call any other number or make reservations through any other method. If space is available, handle the upgrade as a standard on-board sale. Refer to section P “Using COTS for Upgrades” in Chapter 8 “Train Service Accounting Procedures” or the Conductor’s Memorandum Tariff – “Guidelines for Selling Tickets On Board” for further guidance in handling the ticketing process.

Last edited by a moderator: