Help Support AmtrakTrains.com by donating using the link above or becoming a Supporting Member.

Empire Builder 7 or 27?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Guest_AJSpark_*

Guest_AJSpark_*
  • Guests

Posted 11 September 2008 - 02:35 PM

Hi everyone, newbie here. I'm a California resident and have regularly used only the Pacific Surfliner in the last 40 years. However, I'm headed to Michigan to accompany my mother's 92-year-old cousin on a train trip to Minnesota in mid-October.

My question is about the portion of the trip that will take us from Chicago to Minneapolis. When going to the booking page, it gives me a choice of either the Empire Builder 7 or the Empire Builder 27, same schedule but different rates. Am I to assume that the higher-priced rate includes some amenities not available at the lower rate? How can I find out what they are, to see if the rate hike is worth it? Any input would be most welcome!

#2 MrFSS

MrFSS

Engineer

• Honored Members
  • PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 9,777 posts

Posted 11 September 2008 - 02:39 PM

Hi everyone, newbie here. I'm a California resident and have regularly used only the Pacific Surfliner in the last 40 years. However, I'm headed to Michigan to accompany my mother's 92-year-old cousin on a train trip to Minnesota in mid-October.

My question is about the portion of the trip that will take us from Chicago to Minneapolis. When going to the booking page, it gives me a choice of either the Empire Builder 7 or the Empire Builder 27, same schedule but different rates. Am I to assume that the higher-priced rate includes some amenities not available at the lower rate? How can I find out what they are, to see if the rate hike is worth it? Any input would be most welcome!

Same train, different cars, same amenities.