Ferry Building in San Francisco

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
C

Carol

I'll be taking Amtrak's Zehyr into Emeryville on Sunday, 4/11 with a bus connection to San Francisco's Ferry Bldg. My question: is the Ferry Building staffed, or does it have public phones, where I can call for a cab to my hotel? I'll be getting in rather late. Does the station in the Ferry Bldg. close at any certain time?

Your advice would be greatly appreciated.

Carol

I'm no expert, but I did take an Amtrak bus from the Ferry Building to Emeryville to transfer to the Coast Starlight once, so I may be able to help. I believe that the ferry building station is staffed. I'm not sure if there is a pay phone there, but it is likely because it's in a fairly busy area. If not, there's probably one across the street or nearby.

The SF Ferry Building Station is currently closed and unstaffed due to flooding, but is supposed to reopen sometime this month. You might want to contact Amtrak directly to see if it will be opened before your trip. Otherwise there are plenty of payphones nearby and transportation is available right in front of the station.

Oh, I didn't know about that, there wasn't any flooding when I was last there.

The Ferry Building has been closed at least going on a year now. Actually the Amtrak station is in the building just south of the Ferry Building. Depending upon the location of your hotel you might want to see if the bus makes stops at the Hyatt in Justin Herman Plaza, or at the San Francisco Shopping Center (very close to the Marriott and other hotels in Union Square) as it would eliminate the need for a cab to the hotel. If the bus does make the additional stops you can get off at the closest stop to your hotel even with a ticket to the Ferry Building.