Newbie to Amtrak - need to get to O'Hare from Union Station

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
K

KerriLynn828

Hi All!

As the topic title states I'm new to the whole train experience. I'm traveling from Michigan to Union Station. I need to get to the O'Hare airport and I thought taking the train would probably be a better idea then hailing a cab. So I've read up on some of the tips so far. I understand that I will have to walk from Union Station to Clinton. Now is that an underground walkway or no. Also I am traveling alone. Should I be worried a single female with luggage walking the roads? Any tips or advise for a Newbie? Please Help! I'm very nervous about this whole experience and could really use some reassurance.

- Kerri

The Blue Line of the CTA runs between ORD airport and downtown Chicago (aka "the Loop"). Union Station is just outside of the Loop and is within easy walking distance of a couple of CTA stations. Although I'm not a Chicago native, my recollection is that Union Station is in a pretty safe, well-populated business district.

Probably the easiest transfer is to come out of Union Station to the west (you should end up on Clinton Street). Turn left and walk three blocks south. You'll see the Eisenhower Expressway (I-290) above you and the Clinton-Blue station should be right there (at Clinton and Congress). Get on a Blue Line train heading towards O'Hare and you should get there about 45 minutes later.

Try going to the following Google Map link. Assuming your screen is roughly the size of mine, Union Station should be in the upper middle and Clinton-Blue station should be in the lower middle-left. (The Sears Tower should be to the far right--an interesting sight in satellite imagery!)

http://maps.google.com/maps?f=d&hl=en&...p;z=17&om=0