New to Amtrak - travel with young children

Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum

Help Support Amtrak Unlimited Discussion Forum:

This site may earn a commission from merchant affiliate links, including eBay, Amazon, and others.
Status
Not open for further replies.
Good Afternoon,

I am new to traveling on Amtrak in the Northeast –actually, it is the first time ever - and I have a few questions.

We are a family of 4 (2 adults / 2 children – 5yrs) traveling from BWI to Boston Back Bay. Currently, we are reserved on the 172 Regional Service (coach) Northbound and the 93 Regional Service (coach) Southbound.

My first question is how accurate is the travel time between these two stations. The website lists the duration of this service to7 hours and 15 minutes. Is this correct? Are there delays which make it longer? Also, is there any benefit with upgrading to Business class on this service? I am traveling with two young children and have heard that sometimes it is hard to get seats together in coach. I am a bit worried about this.

Also, I noticed that the Acela Express runs this same route and provides an hour savings, but costs almost $80 more! Is the Acela a better choice for traveling with young children? Are there any specials for children?

Regards,

twinmom

Twinmom,

First, take a visit over to on-track-on-line, and read over their Amtrak travel tips.

As for getting seats together -- especially on the NEC -- it's a bit of a crapshoot. Conductors do have the authority to have people move to free up seats for families to travel together... but whether you have one on your trips that will do this is another matter. My $0.02 of advice is to call Amtrak and see if they'll note your reservation that you're traveling as a family, and have that bit put on the conductor's manifest.